Apr 5, 2011


HaftsinExcuse me for my long late. I want update my blog after three weeks. We were in vacation through our new year; our new year is named Nowruz. Today post is about Haftsin.
Haftsin or the seven 'S's is a traditional table setting of Nowruz, the traditional Iranian spring celebration. Today the haft sin table includes seven specific items, all starting with the sin (س) in the Persian alphabet. The items symbolically correspond to seven creations and holy immortals protecting them.
Traditionally, families attempt to set the most aesthetically appealing Haft Sîn table they can as an expression of traditional, spiritual, and social value, for visitors during Nowruz visitations. The Haft Sin items are:
1.Sabzeh: wheat, barley, mung bean or lentil sprouts growing in a dish - symbolising rebirth
2.Samanu: sweet pudding made from wheat germ - symbolising affluence
3.Senjed: dried oleaster fruit - symbolising love
4.Sir: garlic - symbolising medicine
5.Sib: apples - symbolising beauty and health
6.Somaq: sumac fruit - symbolising (the color of) sunrise
7.Serkeh: vinegar - symbolising old-age and patience
A slightly less traditional Haft Sin may also include:
Sonbol: the fragrant hyacinth flower - symbolising the coming of spring
Sekkeh: coins - symbolising prosperity
Ajil: dried nuts, berries and raisins
a mirror
decorated eggs, sometimes one for each member of the family symbolising fertility
a bowl with goldfish symbolising life, and the constellation of Pisces which the Sun is leaving
rose water, used to cleanse in Islam before prayer and is also heavily prevalent in Iranian cuisine
You look our Haftsin and me in the picture ;)

No comments:

Post a Comment